Connect with us


APC’s Achida emerges Sokoto Speaker

With simple majority votes, All Progressives Congress (APC) member-elect Hon. Aminu Achida (APC- Wurno) on Tuesday emerged Sokoto Speaker at the maiden sitting of the 9th Assembly.

Achida, after a keen contest, floored Hon. Abdullahi Sidi (APC- Gwadabawa South).

The sitting and process were conducted by the 30 members- elect under the watchful supervision of the Acting Clark to the Assembly Alhaji Abdulrazak Shehu.

Achida, who scored sixteen votes to emerge Speaker, was nominated by Ibrahim Sarki (PDP- Sokoto North II).

However, Sidi who scored 16 votes was nominated by Maidawa Kajiji (APC Shagari) and scored 13 votes while one vote was invalid.

READ  APC appeals to Nigerians on Democracy Day

The 8th Assembly Deputy Speaker, Hon. Abubakar Magaji (PDP- Bodinga North) following his nomination by Malami Muhammad (PDP- Sokoto South II).

He scored 17 votes to defeat Hon. Isa Harisu (APC- Kebbe), who was nominated by Abdullahi Zakari (APC- Rabah) and scored 12 votes while one vote was invalid.

Achida commended the members for giving him the opportunity to serve, assuring them of better leadership for the overall development of the state.

He congratulated all the members for being part of the Assembly and sought for their cooperation to succeed in their various task ahead.