Connect with us


Buhari reacts to the newly elected presiding officers of the 9th National Assembly

President Muhammadu Buhari congratulated the new presidents of the Ninth National Assembly.

This was contained in a statement Tuesday evening by his spokesman, Femi Adesina.

Ahmed Lawan and Femi Gbajabiamila, both unified candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) government, have emerged respectively as president of the Sepaker Senate and Chamber of Representatives.

The President greeted all national legislators and their political parties for their show of patriotism and not partisanship before and during the elections.

He praised the transparent and fair nature of the voting process, considering it an advantage for democracy in the country.

The statement added that Buhari described the emergence of the new leaders of the legislative branch of government as “a new dawn, different from duplicity and perfidy of the immediate past.”

He charged the winners to use their exalted positions for the higher interest of the country, her people, and for the growth of democracy.

READ  Wike speaks on being against Islam

According to him, “The Executive does not desire a rubber stamp Legislature. While separation of powers is essential, collaboration among all Arms of Government should be the name of the game. Opposition need not be virulent.”

“Stepping into the Next Level, the legislature has a big role to play for the goals of the administration to be achieved,” stressing that, “This is for the ultimate good of the nation.”

The President urged contestants who lost out to be gallant in defeat, and join hands with the victors who should exhibit magnanimity and eschew vindictiveness.

“At the end of the day, we, the people, who elected our representatives at the national level, are the winners,” he added.