Connect with us


Inauguration of 7th assembly of Anambra state



The seventh assembly of the Anambra State legislature has been inaugurated.

The clerk of the House, Mr Pius Udoh who performed the inauguration ceremony for the 30-man Assembly charged the members to work for the unity and development of the state.

Meanwhile, Hon. Uche Okafor, member representing Ayamelum State constituency has emerged Speaker Anambra State House of Assembly.

Okafor, a two time member of the House was announced unopposed, after he was nominated by Hon Edward Igbuzor and seconded by Lawrence Ezeudu as a lone nominee.

Hon. Pachal Agbodike of Ihiala II state constituency who was initially touted to emerge as Speaker being from Anambra South has emerged unopposed as Deputy Speaker Anambra state House of Assembly.

READ ALSO:  Supreme Court strikes out suit against Wike’s eligibility

While Anambra State governor, Chief Willie Obiano hails from Anambra North senatorial zone, his deputy, Nkem Okeke is from the central zone, and it was hoped that the Speaker would have hailed from the Southern zone to ensure equity in power sharing.

A source, however, said that the House settled for a Speaker from Anambra North since the state governor favours the southern zone producing the next governor.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *