Connect with us


INEC releases Kogi final list of candidates, parties



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has published the final list of 24 candidates and political parties that will contest the governor’s election on November 16 in the state of Kogi.

The list published on the bulletin board of the INEC office in Lokoja on Monday showed that the current governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello, of the All Progressives Congress (APC), will eliminate him with 23 other candidates.

In the list there are Mr. Musa Wada of the Democratic People’s Party (PDP), Ms Justina Abanida of the Democratic Action Congress (ADC) and Ms Aisha Abubakar Audu of the YPP.

Other candidates and their parties are ; Mr Suleiman Mohammed, ZLP, Mr Shaibu Sani Teidi, YDP, Mr Abu Omagami, UPC, Mr Abdulrazak Omeje, UDP, Mr Victor Akubo, GPN and Mr Abdulmalik Mohammed, HDP.

Also on the list are ; Mr Alfa Oboy, JMPP, Mr Jimoh Yusuf, MAJA, Mr Mohammed Dangana, NCP, Mr Dele Bello, GDPN, Mr Ibrahim Sheik, APGA, Mr Emmanuel Orugun, ANRP, Mr Ndakwo Tanko, ADP, Mr Abdulahi Mohammed, A, Mr AbdulKabiru Abdulwasiu, AAC, and Ephraim Medupin, AD.

READ ALSO:  Okorocha wins INEC in court, to be issued Certificate of Return

Others cleared to contest include Mr Ukwuomu Idachaba, PPN, Mr Isa Karimu Yakubu, PPN, Mr Moses Itodo Idris, PPP and Mr Ayodele Ajibola of the PRP.

The rejected nominations in Kogi were Action Peoples Party (APP) and Democratic Peoples Party (DPP) for nominating underage candidates of 34 years and 31 years respectively.

Also rejected were Alliance National Party (ANP) which nominated underage deputy candidates of 32 years, Alliance Peoples Movement (APM), 30 years, Alliance of Social Democrats (ASD), 33 years and APP, 34 years.

Others were Movement for the Restoration of Nigeria (MRDD), 33 years, Social Democratic Party (SDP), 34 years and United Progressives Party (UPP), 33 years.