Connect with us


Tribunal dismisses petitions against three Oyo Reps members

On Saturday, the National Assembly electoral court in Oyo state rejected petitions against three members of the House of Representatives in the state.

Latest Nigeria News informed that the elections of the three legislators whose electoral court confirmed on Saturday were the Hon. Musliudeen Olaide Akinremi, Hon. Tolulope Akande-Sadipe and Hon. Olayemi Taiwo, representing respectively the districts of Ibadan North, Oluyole and Ido/Ibarapa East.

Our correspondent recalls that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had declared Akinremi of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Akande-Sadipe also of APC and Taiwo of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) winners of the elections to the House of Representatives during the last general polls.

However, the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party in northern Ibadan, Ademola Omotoso, approached the court asking for elections and urged the court to declare him (Omotoso) winner.

In addition, the PDP candidate in Oluyole, Mojeed Mogbonjubola, also kicked Akande-Sadipe’s victory when he approached the court to declare him the winner (Mogbojubola).

Professor Adeniyi Olowofela of the APC also approached the court while pleading to declare it (Olowofela) the winner of the Ido / Ibarapa East federal election against Taiwo of the PDP.

The signatories contested that the elections were marred by bad practices; violation of the electoral law provision and that the interviewees did not win by the required number of valid votes.

The signatories also asked the court order to declare them winners or, alternatively, to cancel the elections.

But, in defending Akinremi’s victory as the winner of the Ibadan North federal election held in February of this year, the judges who were unanimous in their decision in favor of the legislator, also awarded the sum of N150,000 of costs against PDP Omnose.

READ  Tribunal Dismissed APC's Application To Recount All Ballot Papers

In carrying out a trial in favor of Akinremi, the group of three people from the court who ruled President Anthony Akpovi as president, judge Sambo Daka and judge Chinyere Ani as members unanimously declared that Omotoso’s request lacked about.

The court also rejected the petition presented by Mogbonjubola of the PDP in the Oluyole federal constituency against Akande-Sadipe and another petition presented by Olowofela of the APC against Taiwo in the Ido / Ibarapa East constituency.

The judges said the petitions lacked merit and gave a cost of N150,000 each against the signatories.

The court declared that no elections were held in the world without a small error and that the signatories had not shown that the substantial violation had affected the outcome of the elections.

The panel also stated that the signatories had not submitted the necessary documents and witnesses to defend their petition, adding that the burden of proving that the elections did not comply with the provisions of the electoral law rested with the petitioner.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *